Do you love your neighbors?

Posted: December 4, 2013 in Staff & Ministry Leaders

Growing up I lived on a cul-de-sac.  I knew every neighbor, I played with the kids.  We didn’t have each over for meals or anything but I knew them, and was comfortable around them.  My parents were fine with me going into their homes.  Well we have been in our current home for seven years now.  We have lived in our current house since 2006.  Since moving here how much do I know my neighbors? I know the people on each side of our home, and of course I know Pastor  Ben and Andrea down the street.  But how much do I know about them.  Well I know where they work, I know their names and little tid bits, but that is it.   We may have conversations over the fence about our gardens or the weather our combined lawn area, but that is it. I haven’t once invited them over.   Nothing close to what it was like when I was growing up.

This last summer I started to feel a little twinge of the need to reach out to my neighbors.  

But what did I do.  Nothing!  A couple of months ago I just happened to mention it in our staff meeting, and than Pastor Ben mentioned he had the same thoughts.  At that time Pastor Dave was talking about how we are to go out and make disciples. Our responsibility as Christians is love our neighbors and give them the opportunity to know Jesus. How can I give my neighbors the opportunity to know Jesus if I don’t even know their names.  Since than the  Potloffs,  Burbanks, and Sneeuwjagts have met.  We have made some plans.  Our prayer is between the three of us, we can start to make connections with our neighbors here on Card and Bonanza.

Written by Charisa Burbank – Children’s Ministry Director

Leave a Reply

