A Thankful Heart

Posted: November 20, 2013 in Pastor Posts

I love this time of year!  Christmas and Thanksgiving are right around the corner and everyone seems to be in a good mood.  Businesses offer up their latest pumpkin spice or eggnog concoctions and Christmas lights, football, and turkeys are on people’s minds.  It is a time of celebration and getting together with family and friends.  It is a time to be thankful.

As we approach Thanksgiving next week, we are reminded to be grateful.  From advertisements to greeting cards, we are reminded that, as Americans, we are blessed and have so many things to be thankful for.  Thankful for family. Thankful for friends.  Thankful for a warm house.  Thankful for a job.  Thankful for food to eat.  This time of year we are reminded to have an ‘attitude of gratitude.’

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”  1 Thessalonians 5:18 (ESV)

As I reflect on my own life, I have to admit, that I would not be characterized as a thankful person, especially ‘in all circumstances.’  When things are going well, I try to be grateful — most of the time:)   It can be a challenge to be thankful.  How about you?  How is your level of thankfulness this year?

So often my focus is on things of this world…food, friends, football, and guitars 🙂  It can be easy to forget that, as believers in Jesus, we are spiritually blessed beyond measure.  I am challenged by the question:  “Do we daily think about what Christ has done for us?”  I mean, we were once lost…destined for hell…and Christ redeemed us!  And He continues to forgive us daily…over and over and over again!  Are we daily thankful that in our sin… in our mess…God continues to love us and call us His children?

When we daily remember what Christ has done for us, we can have the same perspective the apostle Paul had:

Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?  Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!”  Romans 7:24-25 (ESV)

So, as you plunge into the festivities of Thanksgiving next week, are you thankful?  Thankful in all circumstances?  Thankful not just for a great family and friends, a nice home-cooked meal, a warm fireplace, and a cozy sweater.  I mean thankful; really, truly thankful that you have a Savior who loves you and has called you a son or daughter.  A Savior who delights in giving good gifts to His children.  A Savior who deserves our praise and thanks…in all circumstances.

“You are my God, and I will give thanks to you;
you are my God; I will extol you.
Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
for his steadfast love endures forever!”

                                    Psalm 118:28-29

Written by Pastor Ryan Bucher

Comments
  1. Susy Moore says:

    Ryan, I am Jameson’s Sunday School teacher. He is one smart cookie and he thinks you are very special !!! The kids were sharing about their parents and I asked him about you being the Worship Pastor. He answered, “Yeah, my Dad does everything at the church” I thought that was so precious!! He thinks the world of you!!

  2. Bob Sloan says:

    My experience in the Christian life has aught me that the true test of my faith comes when “all is well”. It is very easy for me to run to God when trials confront my daily routine. But when the road is smooth and blessings flow I am tested to forget God… (Deuteronomy 8″17-18)

    Being thankful in all circumstance is truly the mark of a mature person in Christ.

Leave a Reply

