A New Perspective

Posted: October 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

One of the hardest things that I find difficult about being a Christian, or for a better term Disciple, is facing everyday with a good attitude. Let’s face it, the world is not exactly rainbows and flowers all the time. Bad things happen every day. Difficult situation arise every day. We fight battles every day.

As Disciples, we are called to a higher standard. The “world” knows this. The “world” knows that we are Disciples and should be dealing with our situation with a higher standard, a positive outlook and a good attitude. I’m not sure about you but I don’t necessarily fit that profile all the time. In fact the only true Disciple who could do that is Jesus, so I will count my blessings that he gave me grace to cover my short comings in regards to my attitude. So where am I heading with this?? One word…. PERSPECTIVE!

The great thing about being a Disciple is that we have a tool box, the Bible, to guide us in our perspective. Our Father gave us the Holy Spirit to guide us in every situation we face, no matter how difficult. The Holy Spirit can and will change our PERSEPECTIVE.

The Book of James is a great example.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” Jms 1:2-4

No matter what the circumstance we need to change our PERSPECTIVE. Consider it a privilege to go through trials. By changing our view and how we look at things, we can overcome anything. As Pastor Dave preaches on the topic of “prayer” the next couple weeks, let’s take the time to pray for PERSPECTIVE.

I leave you with two things. The first one is my favorite quote, which helps me through tough times, take it for what its worth…

“A good attitude will not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.” Herm Albright

The second thing is a link to a video that I would like you to take the time and watch. Some of you may already be familiar with this man and his story, but he knows PERSPECTIVE!

Written by Matt Graber – GCC Member

Leave a Reply

