Prayer Help through Acts

Posted: May 13, 2013 in Thoughts from the Elders

When you think about it, a healthy church starts with healthy Christians in the church, since the church is made up of the people and not the building.  I know that for me maintaining a devoted prayer life can be a struggle. It’s not easy. But like Guy said in his sermon two Sundays ago, it’s part of every healthy Christian’s devotional life. And I think the term “devotions” comes from Acts 2:42-47  that Guy mentioned in his sermon. We’re to devote ourselves to those things and sometimes we lose that over time. Anyway, I love what I read from family life (below) this week. It reminded of something my grandmother did when I graduated from high school. She gave me a One Year Bible and on the inside cover she had placed a little handwritten love note to her eldest grandchild. It said something along the lines of:

“I have found the following acronym has helped me grow in my relationship with my Savior. As you devote yourself to finding God’s will for your life, remember this acronym when you pray and it will bless you. I promise. Love, Grandma”

A  is for Adoration

C  is for Confession

T is for Thanksgiving

S is for Supplication

Well, it seems she was onto something because the good folks at Family Life seem to have discovered it as well. Anyway, I hope this blesses the people of Grace Community Church and any who might read this. And one last thing….Thank you Grandma Ratzlaff. You were right!

Mitch Ratzlaff – GCC Elder

Leave a Reply

