The Wonder of the Body

Posted: March 7, 2013 in Staff & Ministry Leaders

Have you heard of monovision? With monovision, you wear a contact lens on one eye to correct your distance vision and a contact lens on your other eye to correct your near vision.  The whole concept seemed almost unbelievable when I first heard about it.  I had also heard that it doesn’t always work for everyone.  Since I had trouble with either misplacing my reading glasses or forgetting to have them with me, when I needed to read, I was willing to give it a try.

For me, since I only need help with my near vision, I was given a contact lens in my left eye for reading and nothing in my right eye because my distance vision is fine.   My eye that sees well for distance is still blurred for reading and the eye with the contact lens sees well up close but is slightly blurred when looking at distant objects. But with both eyes open and working together the result is acceptably clear and comfortable vision at all distances!  Somehow, miraculously, my brain made the adjustment and my eyes work as a team to provide clear comfortable vision!

All this reminded me of our awesome creator! The human body is a remarkable miracle! Psalms 139:14 says, I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made: your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 

As miraculous as our bodies are there is another miraculous body that God created, the body of Christ! Our God who gave our human bodies everything needed to function and be healthy is the same God who has given the body of Christ everything needed to function and be healthy.  It is exciting to know that every believer is a member of the body of Christ with Jesus as the head. God has given each of us different gifts and abilities.  Some members are more visible like the pastors, greeters, worship team etc and others are maybe not as visible but all are important and are needed to work together as Christ, our head, directs us. As believers each one of us has an important role and responsibility as members of His church.

Romans 12:4-5—For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body and each member belongs to all the others.

Written by Liz Fast – Director of GCP&K

Leave a Reply

