2013 – A Year of Reliance!

Posted: January 2, 2013 in Thoughts from the Elders

We meet today
To thank Thee for the era done,
And Thee for the opening one.
~John Greenleaf Whittier

New Years, out with the old, in with the new.  In many ways I am thankful that 2012 is over.  I’ve never been one for New Years resolutions.  It seems that every day is a series of resolutions in my mind that constantly challenge me to do right, eat right and live right.  In all these endeavors there seems to be an element of failure.  The failure is my humanness.  I all too often try on my own to do these things.  After all I am an American.  I am supposed to be self reliant.  Yet, this self reliance seems to cause me to fall flat on my face time after time.

Why?  It seems to have been a constant theme in my life.  I try so hard and fail so well.  It is because  I forget, almost on a daily basis, that I don’t have to be self reliant.  In fact, I shouldn’t be self reliant.  I should be reliant on the Holy Spirit to guide me and give me the strength to do I what I should do.

We have been through some great teaching this year.  “The forgotten God”, ‘The Christian Atheist” and  “When God’s People Pray”.  And for me, there was a constant theme throughout all of these series. Our reliance doesn’t have to be on ourselves, but it can and should be on God.

Have you ever struggled with a math problem in your head with having no success ,  while all the time you have a calculator  on the cell phone in your pocket.   God is there wanting to help, waiting patiently to guide me and here I am struggling with a problem that is so simple for God to solve.

If I were to make a resolution for 2013, it would be to rely on the power that dwells within me.  Not on myself, but on the Holy Spirit.  He is there, he cares, he is all powerful.  All I have to do is simply rely on him.

May 2013 be a year of reliance, not self reliance.

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Written by Ken Stoller – GCC Elder

Leave a Reply

