Good Works or Garbage?

Posted: December 5, 2012 in Thoughts from the Elders

If you haven’t been attending Grace University consider adding it to your Sunday routine. We have had some great discussions. Sunday morning we were looking at Paul’s letter to the Church in Philippi. Take a few minutes if you have the time to read Philippians 3:1-11.

Consider the following?

  • 2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.
  • John 3:16  For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
  • Ephesians 2:8-9 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.
  • Romans 3:28 For we maintain that a person is justified by faith apart from the works of the law.

The Philippians passage we were in was Paul talking about his confidence in the flesh, and his good works. Paul says in Philippians 3:8 he “Considered everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus.”

Check out a  couple different translations of  verse 8.

  • New International Version (©1984) What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ
  • Aramaic Bible in Plain English (©2010) I also consider all these things a loss for the majesty of the knowledge of Yeshua The Messiah, my Lord, him for whose sake I have lost everything, and I consider it all as a dung heap, that I may gain The Messiah,
  • King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.) Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the Excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,

Now I don’t know about you, but I fall victim to being proud of my “good works” on occasion. I find myself feeling proud of myself on the days I do “good works” and depressed and low on the days I miss opportunities or fall flat on my face. How about we follow Paul’s example to seek our righteousness through our faith in Christ. God does not see us differently at different times. He knows us.

Jeremiah 1:5
“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born. I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Written by Blain Harris – GCC Elder

Leave a Reply

