A Special Place to Serve

Posted: November 27, 2012 in Staff & Ministry Leaders

Each Sunday I always stop by every class to see how everyone is doing. This last Sunday, when I stopped by the preschool class and stuck my head in to see what was happening, I said “checking to see how my little ones are doing.” Someone said, “which one is yours?” and I said, “they all are!” I love the kids here at Grace.  There may be times I have to get after them for something, but I hope they all know that they are special and loved here at Grace.

Back in September 2003, I began this journey as Children’s Ministry Director here at Grace.  Before I began this job, none of my jobs included organizing events and putting together Sunday morning and Wednesday night programs.

I really walked into something that I had no idea how to do.  The one thing I did know was that I LOVED GRACE COMMUNITY CHURCH.

Well here I am, a little over 9 years later.  There have been many challenges, changes, unknowns, and difficulties but also many fun times, smiling faces, hugs, and laughter!

I really believe every child was created and is loved by the God of this universe.  He loves them more than we could ever imagine.  He has a special plan for each one.  Each child is made so unique!!

When you are part of Children’s Ministry, you get to be part of that plan in their lives.  You get to be part of sharing God’s love with them!!

Every child is special at GCC, I love seeing the kids walk in every Sunday morning and Wednesday night.  I love watching them grow up.  I have watched so many kids grow up here at Grace.  I love seeing that some of them are now very involved in serving in the youth ministry, tech ministry, worship ministry, and even in the children’s ministry.

I want to thank the Lord for the opportunity He gave me to serve Him as I do.  I will admit it can be difficult at times.  But seeing the kids’ faces on Sunday morning, or at an event, makes the difficulties seem far away.

If you want to be a part of Children’s Ministry at Grace and participate in God’s plan for our children, please see me.  There are lots of ways to get involved!!!

Charisa Burbank

Children’s Ministry Director

Leave a Reply

