Confessions of a Pastor

Posted: November 16, 2012 in Pastor Posts

Pastor confession: In my personal spiritual life, sometimes God seems distant. To be honest, sometimes I don’t feel close to God at all.

It’s hard for me to even type that because in my own pride I have this silly thought that I need to be a super-human pastor who is always “on his game.” But it’s the reality; sometimes God seems distant.

I have been thinking about this a lot lately and although I don’t have it all totally figured out I came across a verse that really struck me.

You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.

        (Jeremiah 29:13 ESV)

This verse struck me because it made me think about who’s really to blame when God seems or feels distant.

Is it God’s fault? Has God left me or gone somewhere? Based on God’s Word I know this cannot be true. His Word tells me that He is omnipresent or “everywhere” (Psalm 139:7) and that the Holy Spirit, who is God, dwells inside of me (Romans 8:9-11). So the reality is that God hasn’t gone anywhere, He has been with me the entire time. So, why then do I feel like He is distant. I think the answer, at least for me, is that I don’t always seek Him with all of my heart. Maybe you can relate?

God is not hiding. Not only is He is everywhere and indwells every Christian with His Spirit but He has also given us gifts and resources with which we can seek Him, know Him, and experience an intimate relationship with Him.

What are some of these gifts and resources?

His Word. We can seek God and know God by digging into His Word, the Bible. In the 66 books of the Bible God has revealed to us everything we need to know about who He is, what He has done, and what His will is for our life.

Prayer. Prayer is simply talking to our Heavenly Father. This is an amazing gift that draws us close to God. Seeing God work through answered prayer is something that builds and renews our faith and intimacy with Him.

Jesus. Want to seek and know God? Read, study, and learn about Jesus. The Bible tells us that Jesus is God (John 1:1) and that He is the “exact imprint” of God (Hebrews 1:3). To know and be close to Jesus is to know and be close to God.

These are just a few of the amazing ways God has revealed himself to us and shown us where we can find Him and how we can experience intimacy with Him.

So, if you are like me and sometimes feel like God is distant, I think God’s message to Israel through the prophet Jeremiah is the same to you and I; “You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.”

How are you going to see God this week?

Written by Pastor Ben

Comments
  1. Christy Hiebert says:

    Ben,
    Thank you so much for sharing this. I have these same thoughts so much and always feel so guilty for it. Thank you for letting me know I am not alone and encouraging me to continue to seek Him.

Leave a Reply

