Complicated Simplicity

Posted: October 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

I believe it is in our nature to make things complicated. We compound our days with schedules, projects meeting, appointments etc. It’s interesting that we do all of this to make our lives easier, in hopes that when all is done, we can relax.  We do projects because the finished product will help me complete some other task faster. I need to have this meeting because it will make my job a lot less stressful. I need to keep this tight schedule so nothing gets out of line. We even have “tools” that are supposed to help make life simpler. iPhones, iPads, Blackberrys, Tablets, Internet, Skype, Facetime. But in reality, does this make life simpler?

As I sat in church this week, they sang an old hymn to close the service. Give Me Jesus (listen below). In the context of the song, it talks about needing Jesus when I rise in the morning and moves on to when I die, but the key for me is at the end, “You can have all this world, but give me Jesus.” It is the simplicity of Jesus Christ that takes us through the day; it’s His simple voice that guides us. He’s not complicated, He’s not consumed by schedules, he’s not too busy. The idea of complicated simplicity is united by saying, Give Me Jesus.

Written by Matt Graber – Member of GCC

Leave a Reply

