Faith on Display

Posted: December 13, 2011 in Pastor Posts

I love sports. I always have. I love basketball, football, baseball, soccer, golf, and extreme sports. I even love “old man” leisure sports like horseshoes, sling ball, disc golf, and bocce ball. Not only do I like to play sports I also am a big sports fan and enjoy watching the best athletes in the world compete. As I have been watching recently there is someone who has been claiming the spotlight. He is being talked about on sports talk radio, he is being written about in the sports section of the newspaper, and he is being featured on the most popular sports highlight shows. This athlete is Tim Tebow.

For a number of years now Tim Tebow has garnered attention not only because of his powerful touchdown runs and clutch passes, but also because of his faith in Jesus Christ. I know some of you may read this and think, “Yeah right, another ‘Christian’ athlete.” But Tebow’s faith has proven to be much more than a point to the sky after a touchdown or a cliché Philippians 4:13 tattoo. Tebow’s faith is genuine and is something he has proclaimed emphatically.

“…that’s how I feel about my relationship with Jesus Christ is that it is the most important thing in my life. So any time I get an opportunity to tell him that I love him or given an opportunity to shout him out on national TV, I’m gonna take that opportunity. And so I look at it as a relationship that I have with him that I want to give him the honor and glory anytime I have the opportunity.”          Tim Tebow (USA Today)

I find it extremely encouraging and refreshing to see a professional athlete display such a genuine and passionate faith in Jesus. Tebow hasn’t shied away from opportunities to proclaim the name of Jesus to those around him. I wonder if the rest of us can say that it is the same in our own lives. Do all of us have the same pedestal as Tebow? Of course we don’t, but each of us have opportunities every day to proclaim Christ. Whether it be to our next door neighbor, the person on the other side of the cubicle, or the family member we will inevitably see this Christmas.

The truth is that many of us ignore those opportunities because we are slaves to fear. We fear social awkwardness, we fear not knowing what to say, or we fear being rejected or ridiculed. We fear even though we have the God of the universe living inside of us giving us the power to obey Him and overcome any fear we might have.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.          2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT)

Tim Tebow has be ridiculed and rejected but in obedience and faith continues to proclaim the name of his Savior. How about you?

But how can they call on him to save them unless they believe in him? And how can they believe in him if they have never heard about him? And how can they hear about him unless someone tells them?          Romans 10:14 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

